Pedagogy Postcard #11: Online Class Forum. Edmodo et al

A post from Head guru teacher about using online social networks, especially Edmodo, to connect learners.

teacherhead

A series of short posts about specific elements of teaching practice that I think are effective and make life interesting. Some are based on my own lessons and others are borrowed from lessons I’ve observed.

Slide01

Ever since I started using twitter I’ve kept an eye on the edtech thread, impressed and slightly overawed by the range of options teachers have when it comes to using online platforms to support their teaching.  As much as I see the possibilities,  it’s no surprise to me that lots of teachers turn away from the world of edtech.  They may be sceptical that it has anything to offer (is it all too gimmicky, what are the opportunity costs…etc); they may have a natural and healthy aversion to being sold ideas by over-zealous enthusiasts (guilty as charged!) or they may simply find the whole thing too overwhelming to engage with.  Where to start? How to find…

View original post 1,333 more words

Author: loremipsem

I am Head of Teaching and Learning and teach English at an independent School in Melbourne. I am passionate about using technology as a learning tool and I love reading and literature and language.

Leave a Reply

