Leibster Award

20140123-073335.jpg

Yesterday, Mel the Literacy Coach nominated me for a Leibster Award and as well as thanking her, which is heartfelt, here are the rest of the guidelines duly adhered to.

GUIDELINES

Apparently, there are guidelines for accepting the award. Here they are.
1. Thank the person who nominated you and link back to their blog (help with the traffic flow) (tick)
2. Answer the 10 questions sent to you as part of the nomination. ( see below)
3. Nominate 10 blogs with 200 followers or less (but other rules say up to 300).( in progress)
4. Give your nominees 10 questions to answer.( ditto)

10 QUESTIONS

Why did you start your blog?
Well, back in the mists of time…..actually I began the blog as a piece of work for my Masters Degree and then kept it going as a way of gathering ideas. It is fed from my Scoopit site more often these days.

What might have (or has) prevented you from continuing?
Other than just the daily blah blah blah the thing that has stopped me has been laziness. Every now and then I just get hit with the lazy stick and the bruises take a while to fade.

It’s a cold, dark, wet day here today, what’s it like where you live?
We are in the middle of a typical Melbourne summer. Bursts of heat so hot your eyeballs hurt, then rain, then nice, warm days, then a few more hot days ad infinitum. The nights are very warm too so I get more blogging done than normal due to inability to sleep.

What do you like to do when the weather is bad?
If it’s raining I like to go for a bit of a run. If it’s stormy, hunker down and read.

Do you have pet? If yes, tell me about it, or if not, what is your favourite animal?
We have a whit(ish) poodle cross who was a stray and has deep psychological issues. If we leave her to go somewhere she wanders around with our dirty socks in her mouth and when we are home she likes to curl up on someone’s lap.

Show me a picture of what makes you happy. Why does it make you happy?
Books always make me happy, even when they’re sad books. Reading transports you.

20140123-073813.jpg

Did you read anything that made you laugh in the last week?
Well, politics in Australia often makes me laugh but not in a funny ha ha way; more in an exasperated way so the newspaper often makes me laugh. I read a series of letters on Facebook that were part of a neighborhood dispute that had me giggling. It’s too long to copy but here’s the link
http://m.quickmeme.com/p/3vrw3r

What is your favourite article of clothing, and why is it?
This is a no-brainer. Pyjamas. They are the best because they instantly make you relax.

Favourite food?
I’m a bit of a health food nut and often get mocked for my love of yoghurt ( which, apparently, as a Pom I mispronounce!) and quinoa, which I love when others mispronounce. I eat more veggies than anything and my favourite dessert is a big bowl of berries. My treat is dark chocolate, the darker the better.

Do you play any sports regularly?
I jog a bit, do Pilates and go to fitness classes and am about to sign up for gym membership for this year as the gym at work has been moved and is in a less convenient place and my daughter is going to come with me so we can workout together.

Author: loremipsem

I am Head of Teaching and Learning and teach English at an independent School in Melbourne. I am passionate about using technology as a learning tool and I love reading and literature and language.

Leave a Reply

