Graphic novels as literature: The Complete Maus enters curriculum

See on Scoop.itEnglish Classes

Next year, senior students in Victoria will be able to study classic graphic novel, The Complete Maus, as part of the prescribed English curriculum.

Louise Robinson-Lay‘s insight:

I am excited by this. I was considering it for our yeaschool lass as we are a boys’ school. I am very interested to see how students respond. It looks like a text the boys, who have very good visual literacy, would like. I did canvas it in class and the response was positive. As we are a new school we are fortunate in that we can choose texts that best support our own students. An opportunity not always available in some more established schools where teachers may have preconceived notions about what works based on what has worked on the past. We can be a bit more flexible, and hopefully, innovative, in our approaches. The idea of a graphic novel may be more interesting. I havat taught Persepolis before and that worked well so I look forward to the chance to do it with an English class.

See on www.sbs.com.au

Author: loremipsem

I am Head of Teaching and Learning and teach English at an independent School in Melbourne. I am passionate about using technology as a learning tool and I love reading and literature and language.

Leave a Reply

